Day at a Time

By Tweedy

Tin Tabernacles of 2024 #15 & #16

The main is the former United Free Tin Kirk in Lerwick. Now the shop for the famous Jamieson and Smith wool merchants it was previously the church for the herring workers. The staff were so lovely and helpful. They let me poke about and take photos. There was a pencil signature on some of the remaining internal cladding - a chap from Fife in 1942. There would have been trawlermen and women gutting the fish from all up the east coast worshiping here. What a treasure. 

The extra is the derelict gospel hall in Hoswick. I must admit to having been there on Monday. What a beautiful building and a marvellous window which I hope you can make out. 

The promised weather arrived overnight. It's grey and murky with a spot of drizzle in the air. The temperature probably isn't any lower than the last five glorious days but it feels cooler without the sun.

Not to worry though we are off to the museum to have lunch at the bistro there and then I'll have a look around the exhibitions and shops in town. 

I was always counting this as my day around Lerwick and I'm happy to spend time here. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.