Further my skills

By H0tamer

Würzburg

Son M. and I hiked today from a little village south of Würzburg through Würzburg to Seligenstadt. No, not the Seligenstadt of last Tuesday, that is located in Hesse. This Seligenstadt is in Bavaria and close to Würzburg.
The tour, a bit more than 30km, is part of my attempt to walk my way from the most Eastern French border to the most Western Czech border. After today at least 260km left to go (probably more).

Würzburg is probably best known for the castle (3rd extra). But if you are standing at the castle wall looking over Würzburg you will see at least 18 major churches.
My main blip and the 1st and 2nd extra are of the Marienkapelle.
The 4th extra is a part of the choir of the basilica. I didn't think this church overwhelming, but at least interesting. The choir (presbyterium) of the church is big, and the seat for the bishop is in the back end, far away from the people. Since the church was destroyed in the bombing during WWII and rebuilt afterwards, it might have been an option to bring him, the bishop, closer to his 'sheep'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.