ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Parisienne Walkways

Tenuous Olympic connection blip today as I watch the opening ceremony on the telly. Barclays were one of the sponsors of Team GB in 1988 (Seoul) and all us employees were given a tie to celebrate that. Well, the blokes were anyway. I have a vague recollection that the female employees were given a scarf.
I don’t think Barclays sponsored the team again, Premier League football being a more attractive proposition, but I note that one of the main sponsors of the team this year is NatWest. I wonder if they got ties.
Still, at least banks are a bit of an improvement on the sponsors they had in 1948. According to a documentary I watched recently, the main sponsors back then were Guinness and Craven A cigarettes! Those were the days, when booze and fags were good for you!!
As for the actual opening ceremony itself - I’m an hour in and I think the kindest thing I can say is that it’s very French!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.