SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

ISMP.4

After checking out of my B&B, I arrived at the conference in good time for this talk. The slide was used to illustrate the concept of software that allows alternative components to be used to build up algorithms with different properties. It was good to have some light relief as most people were tired. Then came a self-important speaker who isn't a programmer but, based on observations of his minions, claimed that if we weren't programming in language X then we were wasting our time. Since I and many others were coding successfully in other languages I called out "nonsense". Perhaps I should be more diplomatic, but there were young researchers in the room who might be influenced.

I then had a good chat or two before the call to lunch from И, and off we went with developer F and our Japanese friend N, to eat at a modest Japanese restaurant nearby. 

In the afternoon I attended three talks - more for presence than to learn, as I was brain-dead. Then I nipped off to the railway station, and am now on a train to Ottawa

Fans of the conference centre windows - see extra!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.