lovingSutton

By amandoAlentejo

Avian Nurseries

Another kayak adventure today, twelve kms, down an inlet of the Lake and back, not another soul on the water. We launched at an old road that now ends in the Lake, on the way to Reguengos. I've been leaving my camera behind because of the heat, and regretting it, but today took it, well wrapped up - which means I can't be quick on the uptake.

So many birds, including getting really close to a bird of prey. Loads of cows, many standing in the water to cool off, many galloping off when they saw us. And then, as the inlet narrowed, literally hundreds of geese, cormorants popping up all around us, egrets everywhere, and others (I'm no birder).

Some eucalyptus standing in water, mostly dead, full of cormorant nests. And then bushes, full of baby egrets (extra). Amazing experience.

We'd gone to the library first, after another document I need, so a bit late starting, and maybe three hours on the water - so have ended up a bit sunburnt. One reason for the kayaking was the shocking news that a lot of Portuguese are deficient in Vit D, because they avoid the sun - but think I got more than my dose today.

Gratefuls:
- the privilege of seeing what we saw today
- a much better hamburger today at our own Morango Bar (and a good chat with João)
- a celebratory "White chocolate, almond and Java vanilla Nuii ice-cream adventure" (which will hopefully cure my ice-cream craving)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.