Anni Mamundi

By An1ma

Butterflies??…

… Nope, not on this one.

I had a haircut today.
I had been saving up (hair, not cash. Although.. ?) for a ‘wowee’ haircut, for a wedding.
Any previous ‘style’ I might have ever had had grown out months ago.
Covid, sadly, put paid to our wedding plans so I was left by the time of the wedding looking beyond Worzel Gummidge, with frizz, nests and worms and everything. And so fed up not to be going to the wedding.
As I got weller I couldn’t get a hair appointment until today (by which time I was beyond overgrown).

I entered the hairdressers and there were three staff members (three!) loitering by the front desk. They all took a sharp intake of breath upon seeing me and one of them actually said (and I quote)
‘Wow… Big Hair’.
Yes.
I am aware.
Thanks (Maybe?).

I had taken some photographs (from websites and the Radio Times?!) of how I would like to look.
(Younger. Unwrinkled. Beautiful. Stylish.. You know the kind of thing?).
I haven’t done the scrumpled-up-photo-at -the- hairdresser ploy since I was about sixteen, when we all wanted to be Olivia Newton John, but I knew I had a pretty much blank canvas at this point.
Nothing to lose but my dignity. (Gone long since).

Anyway.
Go lovely hairdresser.
I never, ever, leave the hairdressers pleased as a rule. But today?
I’m not unhappy.
A win :-)
Not ONJ, more Miriam Margolyes but I’ll take it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.