Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

Dare to be different

Dry again today, but dull this morning, so I got on with sorting pictures from my week in London. I can't believe it's taking so long! 

Water's off again today for the umpteenth time this year! Finally came back on at 6.30! Another BWM apparently.

Better after lunch, so I got on with some gardening. I was determined to find a spot on the bank for three specimens of Cordyline australis 'Red Star', and found a place just below the small path which runs through the middle. This enabled me to dig a hole within easy reach, though it turned out to be on the edge of bedrock, so couldn't get very deep. Anyway, in they went together and I dumped a couple of buckets of leafmould over the roots!

Another garden Blip today - this is Spigelia marilandica 'Little Redhead', the Indian Pinkroot. As I know I can't keeping acquiring plants, I try, sort of, to stick to buying plants that I've never heard of and this is one. The species is a native of NE USA and is classed as half hardy, though there's some debate about this. My small plants are still in pots and only a few flowers have opened so far - this one is around 5cms long and 1cm wide at the mouth. En masse they look amazing - one day perhaps!

Quote of the Day: “Plant a garden in which strange plants grow and mysteries bloom.” - Ken Kesey.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.