Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

Up, up and away!

I'd promised myself that if it wasn't raining this morning I'd go out on a litter pick - it wasn't, so I did! Just one bag, so less rubbish than usual, apart from Jacob's Ladder where there was a load tipped over the fence by both seats, but out of reach of my litter picker. McCaig's Tower wasn't too bad either, but I had to laugh - or cry - to see this bed, my extra today, where the council had ripped out a perfectly good large shrub and replaced it with this blob. Later on, when the bare soil was covered in weeds, they returned to spray it and sprayed the shrub too. Why oh why can't the council employ a gardener to garden? 

I enjoyed a number of chats with a range of people - some were friends, others tourists. I was surprised by someone calling out as I descended Jacob's Ladder and when I turned round the lady called out again 'Officer'! Not been called that before - but she only wanted directions.

We had lunch outside today - sunny, but with a gentle breeze. This afternoon I spent a couple of hours in the garden - another bank job, you might say! Not very good on the knees, so then it was back to the lounger with a book and a milkshake. 

At one point I heard the sound of an aircraft, and there was my neighbour Archie circling in his red WACO biplane. I rushed inside for the camera and luckily he performed another circuit before moving on. I'd love to be able to do that!

Quote of the Day: “The airplane stays up because it doesn’t have the time to fall.” – Orville Wright.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.