ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Speed King

105mph, 6,500 revs and I’ve still got time to take a photo? Obviously not. Even a cursory glance will show that the bike is in Neutral and therefore clearly not speeding down the road. But the clocks on my bike do a neat trick when you turn the ignition on - all the lights come on and the needles sweep around the dials. Just a question of catching them at the right moment.
But I have been out on the bike tonight. In fact, this was the second night in a row - each time to Blackadder rehearsals in Lancaster. Last night was a late finish and I ride home in the dark and got covered in flies. Tonight we had a much earlier finish so I took the scenic route home. Most enjoyable it was too, with only very few other vehicles on the road.
So, dry flowing roads, no traffic and evening sunshine. Is it possible that those revs and that speed may have occurred for real during that journey? You might think that, I couldn’t possibly comment…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.