Look Out

By chrisf

Blowing your own Trombone

Or in the case of instrument maker and player Tony Millyard, blowing your own woodwind instrument.

There are questions I’ve never thought to ask, such as “whatever became of the Crumhorn” ? That was the title of this mornings lively talk in the Kings School Boathouse, with lots of bizarre instruments being played. All fascinating. The instrument featured is a bizarrely complicated form of baroque Italian bagpipe which is incredibly difficult to play and never caught on.

I also attended a performance of Shakespeare’s The Tempest, which had to be relocated to inside the Bishops Palace because it was too hot for an outdoor performance. And an evening performance in the Cathedral, featuring the BBC Singers, and in the first half Anna Lapwood on the organ. Excellent again, it’s being broadcast in the autumn to celebrate the 100th anniversary of the Singers.

In between times I’ve explored the Severn through Worcester, and some of the city centre, and had a much needed rest (which I’ll need more of I think, I’ve been flagging a bit these last days).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.