PicturePoems

By PicturePoems

Beverley Minster

We stopped off in Beverley on our way home. We'd never been there before and decided to look round the Minster. I really liked the small carvings around the walls, mostly of musicians. These four were my favourite. Top left isn't playing an instrument but I liked his pets - his hand seems to be inside the mouth of a baby dragon, while a giant bird sits on his other shoulder. Top right, the man looks to be away with the fairies. Bottom left looks as if he's lost in the music. Bottom right is using so much puff to blow his horn, his cheeks are as round as hamsters'.

It's a beautiful church and houses the remains of Henry Percy, 4th Earl of Northumberland (1449-89), of Battle of Bosworth fame. He's the one who had supported Richard III, but sat on the fence and didn't join in the fight, but watched Richard's downfall. Perhaps he'd heard rumours about the princes in The Tower? However, he was later murdered by citizens of York in protest against Henry VIIth's taxation. Still, he has a fine tomb of unpolished marble. That will make him feel better.

I was surprised to learn that Beverley Minster receives no funding from the central Church of England. Goodness knows how it affords to keep the building in such good repair. There's no fee to visit (which is good, I think), but only about 30% of visitors make a voluntary contribution, so the meeter-and-greeter lady told us. That's bad, I think. 

So, now I'm up to date with my blips. Good news on our return: although the buddleia is now covered mainly in brown deadheads, on the few remaining purple blooms I spotted, first, a small tortoiseshell, and then a peacock butterfly. So they are arriving at last.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.