Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

MEET MAGGIE AND GARY

Mr HCB was up early again this morning and out watering our new plants and the ones he moved a couple of weeks ago. 

When I came downstairs - because I don’t get up as early as him - he suggested that as it was going to be too hot in the garden to do very much, I might like to go out for a coffee.  I didn’t need a second bidding, so off we went – no prizes for guessing where we went!  

We parked the car further away from Jack’s which meant that we had to walk a little way but that was fine – we stayed on the side of the road where it was shady.

However, on leaving the car park, we witnessed what could’ve been a nasty accident when an older man was walking along the pavement just in front of us and was almost knocked down by a young lad on a motorised scooter. Of course, we stopped and asked if he was OK; he was obviously quite shaken and said that the lad had actually brushed his arm.  Mr HCB suggested that he walked on the inside of the pavement rather than near to the road, as this would obviously be safer.  The lad was long gone but we were glad there was no damage done. 

As we walked further along, we saw a young lady with a dachshund - we are not “doggy people” but knowing that lots of my Blip friends are, I asked if I could take a photograph, and the lady kindly said I could. Maggie, as I found out the dog was called, wasn’t that keen on having her photograph taken but I thought that this was quite a nice one! So this is one for all you “doggy lovers”out there. 

Thinking I had my Blip “in the bag”, we carried on into Jack’s where we ordered our normal coffees. Mr. HCB had gone round to the “little boys’ room“ when two men came and sat at the next table.

Seeing the quote on one of the men’s T-shirts, I couldn’t resist asking him what he did on the other days of the week!  We then had a conversation about chatting to people we didn’t know, but how that made up life – and how much we had missed it during the lockdowns! The man, whose name I found out was Garry, said his wife always told him he talked to strangers too much – and at that moment Mr HCB walked back, and he nodded knowingly, so I told Gary that my husband told me exactly the same thing but I still did it regardless!! 

The second guy told us that it was Gary’s birthday today so, of course, we wished him a happy birthday and I then gave them both one of my little hearts.  Gary looked at his, which had “Peace” written on it and told us that he needed some of that as his wife had been due to have an operation in London today, but it had been postponed for the second time - so I dug deep into my pocket and got out another heart for him to give to her - and guess what - that also had “Peace” written on it! He put them both in his wallet and I asked if I could take a photograph of his tee shirt, explaining, as I always do, about Blip and he posed willingly! 

What a great morning - and one more person to add to our prayer list! 

So - after all that - meet Maggie and Gary! 

After that, we called into the DEBRA shop and then visited a friend whose birthday is on Saturday - a good opportunity to chat to her - and save the cost of a stamp! 

We are enjoying a restful afternoon, in the shade - and I think Mr HCB is hoping for some rain overnight so he doesn’t need to water the plants in the morning! Stay as cool as you can! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.