Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

A NEW ORCHID

My friend, Louise, who was baptised a few weeks ago, gave me this beautiful orchid on Sunday. Most of my orchids - and I have quite a few - are pink, so it was good to have a different colour.

I looked up the significance of yellow orchids and apparently they convey happiness, joy, warmth and strength in a friendship - and we certainly have that with one another.

In fact, she came over for lunch today before taking me to the Meeting of the Community Fridge Volunteers, as we both help there.

It was a good meeting at which we heard that in the three years since starting, we have saved 135,889 Kg of food from going into landfill - the equivalent of 25 African elephants and have had about 50,000 people through the doors! An amazing feat but it couldn’t be done without the help of all the volunteers! It’s a good job we don’t have any elephants through the door - Meg would go mad if she had to clean up after them!! ;-)

Some sad news about my newish Apple iMac - bought last April. It has been poorly for a few months, shutting down for no apparent reason, and then being difficult to restart - but after a discussion with an Apple Advisor, has now been taken to the Apple Hospital to be diagnosed and treated - so I hope I won’t be without it for too long! Thankfully, we kept ALL the packaging so it was relatively easy to pack up and the courier collected it this morning.

We are now sitting in our garden - in the shade - as it’s too hot to sit in the sun - if only we could have rain in the night and sunshine in the day - that would be perfect!

Stay as cool as you can!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.