Edisteve

By edisteve

A little Night Music

Martin and I got the bus into the Assembly Rooms in Edinburgh this morning to see the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland’s production of Stephen Sondheim’s ‘A Little Night Music’. 

The musical revolves around the romantic lives of several couples in 1900’s Sweden. It was mostly a lovely production with nice acting and singing.

That said, we reckoned it suffered from a lack of male players, with only three men as against eleven women. I’m guessing that when written, Stephen Sondheim guessed it would have an equitable number between the sexes, which would have made sense bearing in mind the romantic context. 

The settings and costumes were also a bit off the era, considering it was Sweden in the 1900s. Anna looked as if she had come from 1960s Carnaby Street. 

All in all, I would have expected better of the Royal Conservatoire, although, we still enjoyed it. 

Once back home, Martin went to work, while I had an unexpected call from my friend Hana, who wondered if I was around, as she and Michel had popped into Musselburgh for the first time. I then met up with them and we had a nice walk along the beach and around town (see extra). 

I hope you have had a good Sunday. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.