curns' corner

By curns

More mural

At some point today, we both concluded that it's great to have a day without plans and no timetable to follow. Of course, we could do this every weekend, but we keep planning visits to places and people.

Our relaxing day started with watching the Olympics (quite a bit of equestrian at one point this morning, which I don't really understand).  Then, we walked into Wimbledon to the nearest Starbucks for a soy latte. On the walk, I got to see the new Raynes Park mural up close. I really like what they have been doing with these murals under the arch.

In Wimbledon, we did some shopping. I got a copy of the prescription for my glasses as I, naively, thought I could get a pair of sunglasses made online for less money than Specsavers might charge. Once you add a prescription to the base frames, the cost starts to get very similar, and I can have them fitted properly in person. So, I will head back at some point.

After some shopping, we headed home and ate lunch in the back. This has been the week to sit outside. I am glad we are using the space this year. Mid-afternoon, we began sanding and varnishing the doors on the back of the house. We should have gotten out the varnish last year, as parts of the doors need significant attention. Nonetheless, we sanded one door and applied a couple of coats. In hindsight, it was a pretty quick process, and we should have done all the sanding at once. We'll get back to the others during the week.

In the evening, we watched the first episode of The Jetty, a BBC drama one of PY's colleagues recommended. For most of the episode, it was just OK, and I wondered why it was highly regarded. The twist at the end had us hooked, though it was too late to binge the remaining episodes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.