curns' corner

By curns

Party

The early part of the day was spent at home doing a bunch of chores that, as I write this, I am trying to remember the smaller ones. The biggest task was adding the Ikea basket that was delivered earlier in the week to the cupboard. A task which requires six screws, admittedly some at the back of a cupboard that I'd have to be lying on the floor to reach. Of course, this was not as easy as described because my cupboards do not align with the screw holes provided. Fortunately, I am only using this for lightweight items like baking trays, so I decided to use the screws that I could and not worry about the others. Hopefully, I won't live to regret that decision. It took me an hour to fit a simple basket. I should stop having mad ideas about improving things around here.

We went on a train before 6 pm to Wimbledon to meet friends at the tube station, and we went to Earl's Court. We were heading to Hammersmith and needed an underground replacement bus service. We arrived just in time for a bus, only to be asked to get off as standing was not allowed. About 15 minutes later, the next one crawled through the traffic to Hammersmith. We had to work out a walking route around the shopping centre to find the road to the river and Riverside Studios. Once there, we had dinner (in my case, the burger) with a view of the bridge.

Once dinner was done, it was only a short walk along the riverside to The Blue Anchor, where E's 50th party was being held in the upstairs room. She had arranged a lovely evening with a wonderful playlist of music from our era. There were also a lot of great canapés, and we really did need to have eaten. 

The bar called the last orders at 11 pm, which was a shame as I think we would all have stayed longer (but good for tomorrow's head). We worked out a faster route home, which involved a bus to Fulham Broadway. There, we said goodbye to the others and took a tube to Wimbledon and a bus back home. It was a great evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.