Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

Sunflowers in the rain

Fairly average day to begin with, though I would be disappointed if I’d booked a holiday here! Went down town to do a bit of shopping this morning, trying to find an implement of some sort to clear the cobwebs from our timber-clad house. Brushing doesn’t help - a wet mop is best, but the wrong shape. I couldn’t find what I really wanted though I ended up buying a narrow cylindrical ‘duster’, which I hope when wetted will get into the crevices at the end of the slats where the pesky spiders must be hiding. They begin to return in a few days though - persistent little beggars!
 
I planted my white marguerite in the fake chimney later - it will do for the rest of this year then I’ll try something more spectacular! Did some pot weeding and re-labelling this  afternoon, then sat down with a book for a while, until it began to rain and I came in! Only then I realised that I’d not taken a Blip, so today’s EB is a shot through the window (so not very sharp) of one of the bedding plants in the trough on the deck. A cheery little feller by the name of Sanvitalia procumbens  ‘Aztec Gold’, though some websites call it ‘Golden Aztec’. The RHS says this is a load of nonsense and that it’s Melampodium montanum ‘Aztec Gold’! Who am I to argue with the RHS! The flowers are like miniature sunflowers, only about a centimetre in diameter - I shall get more of it next year, maybe grow it from seed..
 
Quote of the Day: 'A cobweb is as good as the mightiest cable when there is strain upon it.' - Henry Ward Beecher.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.