CrocusMan

By TonyG

Ruth

On seeing her amazing outfit as our paths crossed, I exclaimed "I want one like that!" which, as you might expect started a conversation!   

At Shrewsbury Flower Show, helping on the Shropshire Alpine Garden Society group stand in the big marquee.   There were lots of fabulous displays of a wide variety of plants and flowers on a day of perfect summer weather.   Ruth was part of the Castlefields Yarn Bombing Crew and had made the outfit, which is lined for comfort, herself.   She reckoned it took a hundred and twenty hours work!   Fabulous .... and yes, I would wear it out on special occasions, if I had one :-)

Too many interesting things on display to show them all here so I have concentrated on a few highlights in extra pics.   The Rex Begonias, tender indoor plants with huge and beautifully marked leaves were really eyecatching, Zinnia Dahlia Mix did exactly what it said on the tin while the astonishing display of Gladioli - this just a part of it - would have had the late, great Barrie Humphries in ecstasy.

Jamie looked after Meg for me back home and will be rewarded with some succulent plants - very low maintenence! - for his windowsill while my Ruth will have some to add to her collection as a late birthday present.  A Grand Day Out .... but no cheese today Gromit!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.