seizetheday

By seizetheday

A profusion...

...of Japanese anemones this year.

An 'interesting' day, spent mostly at Calderdale Hospital. It started with an appointment with a vascular neurologist - the problem that I had initially assumed was a muscular/nerve problem wasn't that at all, nor was it caused by a brain tumour as suspected by my GP. It seems that I've had a stroke.

I'm sure the consultant knows his stuff, and is a very nice chap, but he's a man of few words. I felt quite awkward asking so many questions, but he volunteered very little information, and explained nothing until asked. After seeing him it was mostly a matter of waiting for an ultrasound scan (my carotid arteries are fine), a blood test (that's another story!), and to pick up my new medication. Eventually I left the hospital with a month's supply of high-dose statins and anticoagulants. (On reading the lists of probable/possible side effects for both these, the only conclusion possible is that no sane person would ever take them. However, needs must on this occasion.)

MrM had dropped me off at the hospital, and in the absence of parking spaces left the van quite a distance away and walked back. Just before the parking ticket was due to expire (after 2 hours) I sent him home. Much later I caught the bus to Huddersfield and met him there, where we indulged in coffee and cake.

Back into Huddersfield again later for an evening of jazz. Wasn't in the mood for it to start with, I admit, but it turned out to be an enjoyable evening.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.