seizetheday

By seizetheday

Grisly

Another hospital visit this morning - just for a blood test this time.
Yesterday I was asked to go for a blood test at Calderdale Hospital. But the person who sent me had failed to realise that it needed to be a fasting test. So having waited a considerable length of time, when it was finally my turn to see the phlebotomist she informed me that I'd need to come back tomorrow after fasting for 12 hours. Not pleased!

Thankfully, it was possible to have the blood taken at Huddersfield Infirmary, a little nearer home. We found a parking place, I booked in electronically, and by the time we'd walked to the department the phlebotomist was waiting for me. In and out in a couple of minutes, and off home. Phew, that was easy!

Felt quite miserable all day - I think the implications of having a stroke, even a relatively mild one, are sinking in...
So rather than stay at home this evening, I accompanied MrM to the Irish music session in Huddersfield. There are some unusual decorations on the walls of the pub - murals, animal skulls, and various small animals and animal heads that have been stuffed. Maybe the landlord or one of his predecessors is a keen taxidermist! Not sure what this 'decoration' is about - three stuffed white mice with wings on a tinselled wreath. They look strangely angelic and a little bit grisly!


.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.