Fotomatikus

By hazelh

Olga Koch in the Monkey Barrel oven

Mr hazelh and I are squeezing all our 2024 Fringe fun into a day and a half. 

Our first show was Olga Koch comes from money. Olga Koch is very funny, and has clearly 'grown' as a performer since I described her as 'endearing' in 2019. We will remember this show in the future as the one that was performed in an oven. It was so hot in the Monkey barrel that Koch served glasses of water to members of the wilting audience. I was the first person to ask for one. At that point I genuinely thought that I was about to keel over in the heat. I haven't felt so uncomfortable since I was stuck on the tarmac at Barcelona airport in a plane without air conditioning on 6th June 2015. Fortunately the air began to cool after the staff shut the venue doors and switched on a barrage of fans. At the end of the show, Olga Koch invited us to photograph her and tag the pictures on social media. I wonder if anyone else obliges with a shot on Blipfoto?

Our second show was Ivo Graham's Grand designs. We love his work, and have seen him a few times over the years. The first was in 2013 in a tiny venue when we sat next to his granny (or possibly the granny of one of his school friends?) before the show began. Tonight he filled the whole of the Pleasance Grand for another superb show.

Earlier in the day, after our return from Biggar by car, I caught up on duties domestic while Mr hazelh met his old work colleagues Larry and Laurence for coffee in Murrayfield.

There will be more Fringe fun tomorrow.

Exercise today: walking (21,897 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.