Fotomatikus

By hazelh

Fringe day with Mr hazelh and Jon

Mr hazelh and I walked up to town first thing for the usual fun of Shakespeare for breakfast. En route, Jon contacted us to say that he would meet us later in the day for Mervyn Stutter's pick of the fringe, and then Mitch Benn. 

It was a pity that Jon didn't join us earlier because he missed the best of the shows that we saw today. 10,000 hours is jaw-droppingly amazing. See the promotional video at https://vimeo.com/906163209.

Mervyn Stutter's show is always a very efficient and low-risk way of seeing several acts. Today's line-up comprised:

Sinatra: Raw - excellent, although not Mr hazelh's kind of thing.
Ray O'Leary: Your laughter is just making me stronger - very, very funny stand-up with jokes about mattress protectors that will make me think of him for the rest of my life whenever I change a bed; my favourite act of the set.
Naughty or neurodiverse: Magic from another planet - amazing magic tricks.
Trygve Wakenshaw: Silly little things - superb comedy mime artist, and Mr hazelh's favourite act of the set.
Shotgunned - very well-written drama with an extract that was so realistic that I found it very moving; however, I'm not sure that I would have the emotional strength to watch the whole play.
Ali Woods: At the moment - clever stand-up; if he'd been in my class at school I would have both adored and feared him.
The Jive Aces - entertaining jive music; I wouldn't seek out a ticket for the full show, but I could see why others would do so.

Not long after we arrived at Bristo Square to see Mitch Benn, we received the disappointing news that he would not be performing today. So the three of us went to the Devil's Advocate for a drink to pass the time before our next show. 

We might have been better off all going home at this point because much of Rob Madge's act in the McEwan Hall was not to our taste. Once again, we have been drawn in by great reviews for the musical genre (as was the case for The book of Mormon and Hamilton). The show, which has a great story to tell and an important message to share, would have been so much better had it not included any singing. That's our opinion, anyway.

Jon took the selfie of the three of us in Bristo Square just before we heard that Mitch Benn's show had been cancelled.

Exercise today: walking (19,675 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.