Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

Ferries, picnics, and a crocodiles

A normal dull start to the day, but the forecast promised some sunshine from noon onwards for a few hours, so we decided to revisit our Sunday picnic spot in Dungallen Park.
 
There was nobody there at all when we arrived, so we picked a bench and settled in. Sunny though it was, there was a fairly brisk wind, but we enjoyed an hour or so admiring the view, watching the boats, taking photographs and reading.
 
After a while a ferry appeared around Dunollie Point - she turned out to be the Loch Frisa, aka the Chugging Bathtub! I waited for her to sail in front of Dunollie Castle, but an inbound yacht was chugging in the same direction. I thought I’d missed my picture, but I just caught it before the yacht sailed right in front of her! I couldn't resist adding an extra of a floating crocodile!
 
Back home I did come gardening for a while until my knees began to protest then retired to a chair on the deck with a book.
 
Quote of the Day: ‘I love a good picnic. A posh one, not soggy old sandwiches in cling film. ‘ - Angela Scanlon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.