JennyOwen

By JennyOwen

A morning at the National Videogames Museum

This was Eben's choice for a daytime outing today; neither Richard nor I were aware of its existence, in the centre of Sheffield. It's in an area which, a generation ago, featured some fairly prosperous department stores. Now those careworn buildings are gradually being repurposed, and the museum is in part of one of them.
I had low expectations, but in fact it proved to be an entertaining place. The young staff were friendly and helpful, and there was a wide range of games on offer, complete with exhibition material about their origins, histories and cultural contexts.  Among other things, there were some lovely displays with delicate models that have been used in early examples of game development (extra).
I also learned that I really am - at best - semi-literate when it comes to gaming. Eben quickly applied his Minecraft expertise to games from the 1970s and 80s. Richard and I blundered around with some of the consoles and keyboards, and mostly stuck to watching Eben and other kids enjoying themselves. 
Later I did manage a victory at Scrabble :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.