Capital adventures

By marchmont

Books and beanbags

Normal service seems to have been resumed with Cumbernauld appearing to have healing powers.  Whatever, I managed a swim and then some hanging out of laundry and other domestic tasks before I set off to the Book Festival.  

It's now held in the Edinburgh Futures Institute which was the Royal Infirmary and the restored bottom corridor was very evocative.  How many trolleys have trundled along there? 

I was there to hear Polly Toynbee and David Walker on their analysis of the UK's economic situation and possible remedies. 'The Only Way is Up'.  I bought the book.  It was chaired by Kez Dugdale.  I'd forgotten how tall she was.

Had a wander round the grounds (where it is planned to have more buildings eventually, so the current site may be temporary) and had some food before a wander round inside.  Though grew up in Edinburgh I was only in the Royal 3 times - as a teenager to get my appendix out, A&E when I was knocked down by a bus and broke my nose and when I volunteered as part of my D of E. The ambulance entry way is now a path down the side of the building and set of stairs.  I bumped into L who used to be my policy office rat Crisis and is now senior in Edi Uni's PR team.

Then it was time to drift along to the Usher Hall for the beanbag concert, the European Youth orchestra.  An absolutely stupendous hour.  4 pieces including a very joyful bon bon at the end.  Nicola Benedetti was on stage doing the intros and there were loads of young folk in the audience - the main piece being 'The Young person's Guide to the Orchestra'.

I came away wishing I'd also booked the second concert, thought it was good to walk out and more or less straight on to a #47 so I was home very quickly. 

Had a relaxing evening catching up on some tv and starting another French Walter Presents. 

Extras are the Book Festival site and the beanbag concert. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.