Grammy

By Grammy

Early Birthday Celebration

Our day was certainly busy. Hubby went shopping for last minute perishable groceries, most of which I used in my baking whirlwind. I enjoyed a quick breakfast on the porch with our hummers. Then I got busy. Our garden tomato plants are all over the place. I put up metal fencing to get them out of the raised bed center aisle. Now the kids can more easily pick tomatoes. I moved the flower pots to that area so they will get watered with the sprinkler system. The crew will have their choice of ham, Swiss and tomato quiche; cheddar, bacon and broccoli quiche or caramel apple pecan scones for breakfast next week. They have a large project to complete while we are there. I also made a caramel apple pecan birthday cake (shown before I covered it with a caramel glaze) for hubby and boy was it a hit tonight. His birthday is on Sunday but the kids bought him a new large cooler and wanted him to have it for the trip. Almost everyone stopped by for cake and ice cream. River brought his Zingo game. He had so much fun playing with the adults. Hubby shared his butter pecan moonshine with those who were game for a birthday toast. Isla stayed home with her grandmother. That poor baby has been poked and prodded at Children’s Hospital this week as doctors continue to search for answers about what is causing her seizures. My eye is much better. I believe the culprit was a spent blossom from of a butterfly bush that flew into my eye. I deadheaded one bush yesterday and the debris was blowing around. There was a small piece beside my eye that I probably rubbed out during my nap or washed out with eye drops. The redness is starting to fade; so relieved. Everything is ready for tomorrow. Hubby helped a lot; he needed that nap, wish I’d gotten one. We are on the recliners at long last. Hope you got some down time today. Stay safe. Thanks for your visit. “You know you're getting old when you get that one candle on the cake. It's like, 'See if you can blow this out.'" — Jerry Seinfeld

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.