River of Flowers

By doffy

Friday: Brassica Seedlings

A very chilly 16°C and very windy. Storm Lilian came during the night, I’d gone to bed at 10pm and slept through until 6am, storm or no storm …!

I hadn’t really planned on doing very much this morning but I started pulling up some of the nettles growing around the blackcurrants, nettles are very good for the compost and the compost bins were conveniently close.

Then I started cutting back this year’s fruiting raspberry canes and some grass and  damson suckers - these were all added to the green bin which our council empty and make compost at the recycling centre. When I went to take today’s Blip photo there was a young Blackbird happily scratching in the patch of garden I’d cleared, love seeing the wildlife sharing my garden :-))

Exactly a week ago I started off the seedling in today’s Blip, 2 days ago - https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/3273018548284294429 
I’m so pleased with the Wild Sea Cabbage and Jersey Walking Stick kale and I’ve also got a few Cauliflower seedlings too. I’ve moved the seedlings in their protective clear plastic container to the greenhouse - this may be the way of gardening I’ll have to adopt in our current erratic weather …

It’s a Bank Holiday this weekend, wishing everyone sunshine and relaxing.

Loads of love and hugs to all my family / Cariad Mawr
Nos da pawb / Goodnight all XXXX XXX XX

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.