Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

Fringe benefits

Caught the bus into Edinburgh city centre this morning and made for the Royal Mile, which is always a great source of pictures during the Festival Fringe. The forecast warned of a showery afternoon, but there was only one shower which lasted ten or fifteen minutes, then it was back to sunshine with occasional cloudy bits!

I had a great time, though all this stopping and starting, Museum Walk as I call it, plays havoc with the joints! Very little chance of striding out! I had a couple of distractions, one to the Book Festival, which wasn't what I thought it would be, and another to the Museum of Scotland, which was brilliant. 

I had several walks up and down the Mile and took a couple of hundred pictures, so there'll be a lot of editing when I get home. My Blip today is of a rather strange act, the man trying to break out of a metal ring - I didn't realise it was a tennis racket! - a wee boy, his son maybe, had a role to play too which he did very well.

Two extras - one of the Ballet Busker and the other of the Guru Dudu, who leads a Silent Disco, with his group all singing 'Mamma Mia' though only the singers can hear the music!  A lovely day all round and we were really lucky to get some sunny weather!

Quote of the day: '(Edinburgh)The most beautiful of all the capitals of Europe.” - Sir John Betjeman.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.