Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

Coffee and cacti

We left Edinburgh just after 10 this morning - we didn't think it worth staying until the afternoon as rain was forecast. It began to rain just after we set off and rained continuously for the next five hours. Floods and puddle everywhere - driving on the M9 was particularly unpleasant.

We stopped off at Dobbies garden centre near Stirling to buy something for a neighbour - he fed the cats as usual. They have an amazing variety of plants there, even indoor plants which was all I saw today. My Blip is a selection of some of their cacti. I did acquire some leaves of a succulent - no, I didn't really steal them as they were lying on the tray underneath the plants and would eventually ended up in the bin!  I will try to root them.

We stopped again in Strathyre for a coffee at the Broch Café that was once a public toilet - they obviously don't advertise this fact! As they have a little bowling alley outside with a sign saying 'Place de la Petanque' I suggested to the man who served us that the café could continue the French theme by changing the name to 'Café Pissoir' - he had the grace to laugh! The harbourside café in Tobermory was also once a loo - maybe there's a book on the subject just waiting to be written!

Back home soon after 2pm. Glad we had reasonable weather yesterday!

Quote of the Day: 'Without my morning coffee, I'm just like a dried-up piece of roast goat. - Johann Sebastian Bach.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.