What I've Done

By JohnGravett

Storm Lilian

Has to be LARGE

Following Storm Lilian, I parked at the south end of Derwentwater (Catbells side, as the Borrowdale road was flooded). I donned my waders and tried to walk across the duckboards to get a shot of the Chinese Bridge emerging from the floods. Not to be, as the route across the duckboards was still so deep it would have gone well above my waders! I went as far as I could, but the water was an inch from the top of my waders, and I knew the path dropped nearer the bridge.

I carefully retraced my steps - ripples could have made me VERY wet, and walked through to Manesty woods, where the floods were still waist deep, but I was able to make my way safely round this particularly flooded area, to get to the side I needed in order to take this photo. A moments Sun gave me some lovely side lighting. To get this I was still standing in water well above my knees, but it was worth it, the footpath goes through the middle of this photo. Us photographers are a dedicated bunch - a 2 mile walk in waders to get a few photos!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.