Living my dream

By Mima

Apple-hunter

Bean is still able to fossick in the long grass around one particular apple tree on our friends' property and emerge with an apple between her teeth, which she then proceeds to eat very delicately, as if to savour every morsel in case it is the last one.

I have had a more active day than of late and it has suited my back beautifully. There is a lesson in this. 

I weeded on my hands and knees in K's garden most of the morning. (Yes, the weeds are growing again.) This particular activity seems to be very good for my back, which is good news for my own herbaceous borders which desperately need my attention.

Once home I didn't do more weeding however. Instead I raked up swathes of cabbage tree leaves into the fire pit and had a bonfire. 

The strawberry plants were all put into bigger pots in good quality compost and relocated from a bench in the garden to staging in the tunnel house. I should be eating their fruit by mid-December.

One of my helpful neighbours has been round to do some running repairs to the roof flashing around the flue  from the potbelly stove. In return he went home with some metal guttering for his new shed, which has been part of a pile of useful building materials in a corner of Chez Mima for years.

Thank you for stars and comments about the lovely view yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.