Craig's Journal

By CraigD

Grey Heron

A nice morning today compared to yesterday. However there were no heron around. I walked towards the platform at the edge of the loch and the little female flew over but promptly took off back to the middle of the loch again. I walked round to the clearing but still nothing. There is a larger clearing further on so I walked there and the original young one was waiting. I fed her but before I had finished she was chased by the little female (pictured) I fed her (quite a bit) then walked back to the first clearing in case the young one had gone there. Hyde was waiting there and although she was a bit further away I did manage to feed her.  Something has definitely spooked them and it will take time to restore trust. I am going to head up slightly earlier tomorrow in the hope things may be a bit quieter.
There were 4 coots, two moorhen and the duck (same one?) who all got fed as well. The gull, the crows and some Greylags all got biscuits.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.