Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A library visit

After yesterday's adventure, we took it easy today. We were quite pleased when there was grey cloud and it seemed a bit cooler, so we set off in our jackets and jeans. Needless to say, an hour or so later it came out sunny and hot, and we were totally inappropriately dressed.

We popped in to Christiania, the Free State, but didn't stay long. My camera finger would have been twitching too much and Rob had told us that taking photos was not advisable.

We went to visit the new library. It is a fantastic modern Black granite building right on the river. It's attached to the old library on the other side of the road via a glass walkover. We went right up to the top floor and looked down through the four (at least) level atrium with a humungous glass wall from floor to ceiling on the river side. This shot is taken looking through the glass barrier on level 2.

I was very very careful being near the edge of a massive drop, as I don't have a strap on my camera. (My shoulder strap came apart and nearly broke my camera as it dropped to the floor. And I do mean 'floor' not 'ground' as in common parlance). I'm always so worried that I'll drop it.

And drop it I very nearly did! Because suddenly, the loudest rumbling noise started. It grew louder than any surround sound in a cinema! It was like a volcano erupting, or like the whole building was going to collapse. I was honestly terrified for several long seconds, and people on the lower floors rushed out to the centre and looked around. I realised it was some sort of 'installation' as the rumblings and crashings gradually became more musical noises. It went on for three minutes. I know this because I went and asked about it at the desk. They do some sort of 'sound' every day at 1 o'clock.

Walked home (another long hot walk) but popped into the supermarket and got a few treats.

I want to thank everyone for their very kind comments yesterday. I didn't know it would be so much fun to be 500! I will get around to thanking you all personally.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.