Rodents rule

By squirk

Bane of the gardener?

I let this plant grow not knowing what it is. There are tiny pollinators that visit it and it’s a nice shape, so it’s staying for now. An internet search has identified it as Guernsey fleabane, considered a weed. I’m admit that I’m not so keen on it now it’s tufting up with lots of fluffy seeds.

A lovely sunny day, perfect for drying on the line. I sorted out the old compost heap, decanting uncomposted items and some beasties into the new compost bin. I filtered out many tea bag cases that haven’t biodegraded, and the odd fruit sticker. I was delighted to unearth two sprouting avocado seeds. I have a plant from an earlier discovery that has survived two winters. Now it might have some friends if they take to the outdoors.

Juno got a dose of flea treatment in revenge for bringing in a mouse, which remains loose aboot the hoose. I caught sight of it running over the rug, cat in pursuit, but it disappeared under the sofa. Another restless night ahead!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.