This is the day

By wrencottage

Juvenile Goldfinch

Our daughter-in-law and two youngest granddaughters arrived back home from Poland late this afternoon, so it’s good to have the whole family all back in the UK again.

Today I’ve had a hair cut, done some ironing, done some more book editing and Smithers has been busy cooking for the family’s homecoming. 

The garden has been busy too, with lots of activity to keep us amused. The water bowl that I keep filled for the local wildlife is very popular. I’m sure it’s what attracted Charlie, our hedgehog, to our garden in the first place. The WildCam is set to record motion between 8.30 pm and 6.00 am and I’m getting the first notification of nocturnal activity around 9.00 pm. I check on my iPad and it’s usually Charlie who’s arriving for his breakfast! Sometimes he returns about 4.00 or 5.00 am for another nibble in the feeding station, followed by a drink at the water bowl.

There have been many blue tits and great tits at the water bowl today, but this evening a couple of juvenile goldfinches came to check out the facilities, which was lovely to see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.