Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Emotional Support Chicken Lamp

@Soozaday has knitted three Emotional Support Chickens, and I find them so charming that I was a bit envious till I remembered that I have an Emotional Support Lamp stuffed back in the corner of a closet, so I told her I would haul it out and blip it one day. I was busy all day without ever leaving my apartment: phone calls, zoom calls, text chains, piano practice, physical therapy, and somehow it was sunset and the crows were flying south to nest. So this is the day to blip the ESC. At sunset. With crows. 

One fascinating thing I learned today is that there is an online university offering free courses taught by academics living in exile, academics whose lives are endangered because of politics. This university is under the auspices of The New School in New York, an excellent institution that has often pioneered edgy ways to learn. Except for the course on China (taught in Chinese) the courses are in English, and anyone anywhere in the world can sign up. I decided to take the course on women in Afghanistan. I’ve read hair-raising stories, possibly propaganda; so in this course we will hear the perspectives of a couple of people from Afghanistan. Why not? (If you decide to register and you've had no experience with The New School in the past, just tick “visitor.” When you finish registering, they send you the Zoom link and the time the course happens in your time zone.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.