Arachne

By Arachne

Frustrations

-  a matinee performance of Cyrano de Bergerac by a bunch of adolescents-who-deserve-to-be-encouraged. One of them didn't speak too fast and too softly.
- a woman sitting next to me who went on and on and on about how wonderful it was and how brave the youngsters were to learn their lines and perform on a stage.
- a college I would not have bothered to visit except that the play was in their small theatre. (I concede that other parts of it might be more interesting than this quarter-cloister).
- a person in the porter's lodge who utterly ignored our vain attempts to get out through the college gate and into the street, while that woman kept regaling me about how brave the youngsters were...  I had to turn my back on her as the politer alternative to screaming with fists.
- a cycle-ride to my uncle's care home to collect signatures for letters to the organisations who continue to use the wrong address for him 18 months after the first request to change it. And to listen to a Winston Churchill hagiography.

As I cycled home in the sun, I mused on the nature of duty and wondered how I can dispose of it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.