Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Harvest-Ted

More errands today. First, the weekly grocery shop at Sainsbury’s. Then, while I was in that area, I nipped next door to the new Stane Retail Park to look at the selection of bathroom towels in M&S.

I drove back via the country village bit of Copford, stopping to take my blip of Harvest-Ted. He’s a huge bear made from straw bales, and is part of the annual Copford Scarecrow Festival which is on at the moment. Judging takes place tomorrow. Here’s a link to the photo gallery of entries - they’re brilliant! https://copfordscarecrowfestival.com/scarecrow-invasion-2024

After that it was back to Tiptree to collect my duvet from the cleaners. I stopped for a chat with Pauline from church, who was helping to man the Farleigh Hospice stall outside the opticians, and she persuaded me to buy a jar of home-made Christmas chutney. It needs keeping for at least two months to mature, so I reckon it’ll be perfect for the festive season.

Home I decided to wash the bathroom curtains (which I’m keeping as they’re just right for the planned colour scheme). I’ve replaced all the curtain hooks with brand new ones, having discovered that being plastic they go brittle and break with age. The curtains are hanging back up at the window slightly damp, after a good spin, so that they will dry without any creases. Last job has been to order some bath and hand towels and a bath mat to collect from M&S on Monday. So the revamp is v-e-r-y s-l-o-w-l-y being organised. It might even be done by the end of winter!

I’ve spent the rest of the afternoon reading the book club novel with a couple of Sky Arts programmes about Pink Floyd on in the background. Starting to feel settled and content.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.