Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

DerelictWeek - Dehydrated Hydrangea

Being the first Sunday of the month it was Family Communion at church this morning. Not my favourite style of service (I much prefer the traditional Parish Communion), but we try to provide something for everyone at St Luke’s and at least it is still a communion service. Unfortunately these services have never been well-attended by young families, the bulk of the congregation being made up of us regulars who are mostly aged from our 50’s upwards. With families taking their kids to all sorts of other activities on a Sunday morning these days I really don’t think this will ever change, and offering the same thing over and over again for literally years is just not going achieve different results. I am trying to encourage the setting up of a music-based worship service held in the early evening aimed at younger people, which wouldn’t include communion and would therefore not have to be led by one of our overworked priests. Our Tuesday house group are currently investigating how this works for other churches in north Essex areas, and who seem to be having quite a bit of success with it.

I’ve been trying to finish my book club book for the rest of the day. I’m not sure I’ll get through it all by tomorrow evening…..

My blip is for the DerelictWeek challenge - the poor Hydrangea which got dehydrated and therefore wrecked when I was away at the flat during the hot weather earlier in the summer. Hopefully it will come back next year, and I will be here all the time to give it lots of water.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.