biddy

By biddy

Last day of August. Saturday.

I was up early and wandered into the garden in my dressing gown. Then I couldn’t. resist dead heading some of the roses at the same time and snipping off stems of plants which have finished their first and second flowering, like my Geums. They are already showing signs of producing some more.
I heard the Woodpecker and saw him in a tree by the back fence. Must’ve put him off coming for his breakfast by my being out there.
Whilst we were having our breakfast I heard a large screeching and squawking. There were two large bright greeny yellow parakeets at the top of the Rowan. I wasn’t quick enough to catch them on camera!
Maybe next time!
They are becoming quite established in the area generally.
Saturday pub lunch followed later, then a visit to a friend who had had a nasty fall and broken her hip.
She is a single lady in her 80’s. They kept her in hospital for two weeks, up in Grimsby, where she had been to a family wedding. She was brought home by ambulance to Sutton Coldfield.
Her neighbours are being really helpful, doing shopping and keeping a key to take in any deliveries. They all live in the same three storey block of apartments. My friend thankfully lives on the ground floor. There isn’t a lift.
I forgot a little while ago that I hadn’t taken a photo, so here is one of a fuschia that somehow seeded by the cotoneaster hedge on the garage wall!
You’d think it wouldn’t have any room. But each year when I think it’s dead (as I prune it when it is getting ready for its winter rest), it surprises me with new growth.
We are going to choose something to watch on TV this evening.
So ends another month.
And September arrives in the morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.