Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Breaking In!

We have a sticky latch on the door into our en-suite in the house.  While L was out I got the tool kit and looked to ease the latch.  All was going well, I'd removed the scutcheons, checked the mechanism and (as I thought) eased the latch. Last thing to do was check it had worked.  I pulled the door to from the bedroom side, only to find that when I came to depress the handle, the door would not open!

That's silly, surely it would open. I put some of my ample weight against the door to persuade it to open.  No, it wouldn't budge.  I kept trying but the door was not for moving.  I had a mental picture of having to kick the door in, only to leave me with a major repair job, rather than the simple job I had started.

After a few moments deliberation, my only solution was to  break in to the house, using the ladders to climb in through the open window of the en-suite.  I grabbed the ladders, only to start becoming very apprehensive; I'm not good with ladders! I don't mind heights, just the idea of falling from them!

I managed to get up to the small window, opened it wide but then found myself looking head first through the opening and trying to work out how I could enter the small room without losing my balance and falling through. head first into the toilet pan!  Thankfully, I finally managed to twist a leg through first, and entered with some semblance of dignity.  The door opened and I was able to complete the simple task.

It taught me to be more careful with my DIY work in the future.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.