Lathyrus Odoratus

By lathyrus

Bits and pieces

Roadworks meant a long detour via Presteigne (Llanandras) this morning so I took the opportunity to nip into St Andrew's church to see the medieval stained glass. Its tucked away high up in the south aisle side chapel. I've seen it before but hadn't had a long lens with me to photograph it. The window includes five panels consisting of fragments of glass from what must have been quite wonderful windows. I particularly like looking for the medieval faces in these jumbles and this is a rich source as four of the five lights have faces in them. I guess that they are probably a mixture of saints and donors. There are five to find in this window, each with the extended bulbous nose that is typical of the International Style that helps date them to the 15th century. The face in the bottom right corner is, I think, wonderfully expressive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.