Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Nature's Abstract.

Sometimes nature provides her own abstract with nothing but a little judicious cropping on my part. This little scenario in the exposed roots of a tree always catches my attention when we pass it during our Spike walk. Moss, the gnarled roots and stripey bark of the tree as well as the changing color of the poison oak all seem to work together to make an interesting picture.

I thought I would have a great night's sleep last night after the insurance issues were finally resolved and a nice phone conversation with Tim as he drove home from work, but it wasn't to be. John snored, Spike paced around and there seemed to be a lot of strange noises outside. After reading a Peter May mystery that unfolds against a backdrop of a 2050 Glasgow affected by climate climate change...probably not the best night time reading...I finally decamped to the guest room but Spike followed me in there. I finally decided to give him an antacid as suggested by our vet and it did seem to settle him down a bit, but sleep was still elusive, so I've been operating at half speed today and postponed several errands for another time.

It feels like Indian Summer and fire weather today, hot and dry, but it is supposed to cool down for the weekend which will be nice because my brother and his wife will be driving up from San Diego for a visit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.