Blips by cb

By cbimages

CCFC Remembered

We’ve watched a couple of episodes of Freddie Flintoff's Field of Dreams on TV recently, a wonderful story of leadership, teamwork and mutual support. In the final episode his team plays a local Kolkata team at the Calcutta Cricket and Football Club, a rather smart club, it seems, and quite different from when I played rugby there. My father was a banker in Calcutta and my brother and I would be there for the holidays from boarding school in England. We both played rugby, and this photo was post-match in 1972 – I have lots of hair and a daft smile at the back on the right; my brother is third from the right at the front.  It was great fun: carefree days before I left to live alone in London at the age of 18. 

I’d love to get in touch with my friend Phil Gordon, looking at me in this picture. We got together in London for a few weeks, but lost touch after that. . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.