The Pensioner

By Pensioner

This Place

Awake and out into the streets of Kirkwall. I’m sure I’ve been somewhere like this before. North Berwick! I smell money. Though it may just come from all the tourists. Like me. First stop, the Coffee Archive for eggs Benedict with black pudding. Yowza.
Then off on the bus towards St Margaret’s Hope - but only as far as the Italian Chapel. And what a genuinely moving place it is to visit. We British folks are often happy to be a bit down on ourselves but I think the encouragement given to the Italian POWs by Major Buckland could be favourably compared to the treatment given to POWs by some other people (cf the Japanese) which ought not to be forgotten.
Whoops! Anyway, back to town and a good amount of time spent at the wonderful St Magnus cathedral and at everything John Rae related. And the SK bought shoes. I’ve promised to carry them home, being a gallant fellow. No TTP though - like many places the pubs seem to have become either dedicated food outlets or absolute drongo dives.
And then a meal out - a somewhat pricey one at the Storehouse. Somewhat. Aye.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.