Look Out

By chrisf

Invasive Species

I took my car in for its first annual service this morning. I was told it would be ready early afternoon, so rather than catch the bus home I decided to see if I could find Warrington’s grade 2* listed transporter bridge over the River Mersey. It’s not far from the town centre, but hidden from view and surrounded by industry. On my walk there and back I passed a couple of dog walkers, but by the river, no one - these isolated places can be a little discomforting.

The bridge (extra) was built to connect the two parts of the Crossfield chemical works separated by the River, and could transport heavy rail trucks and vehicles. It closed in 1964 and has lain unused ever since, a relic of the town’s industrial past. The works, taken over by Unilever, are now being decommissioned.

The Mersey is tidal here, and its banks are cloaked by plant life, but only three species predominate, all invasive - Japanese Knotweed, Giant Hogweed (now in seed) and Himalayan Balsam. Not the best combination.

I spent the rest of my time in the town centre at the museum - which is very old fashioned, it could do with an update - and at the Market where I had lunch outside. It’s a glorious summers day, not a cloud in the sky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.