The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Now you see me

On the allotments wall.'Tis the season. 

I walked to the Trinity rooms to meet a client, and after that to meet another client at the tech place, so that she could get driving test theory software installed on her tablet, and a quick lesson in how to use said tablet. I have a feeling that there will be no stopping her, once she gets started. 

Afterwards, I went to WHSmith, where I had an odd experience:

In entering the shop, I saw a new paperback book by Liz Nugent, who wrote Strange Sally Diamond, on a table, paired with a hardback book. A sticker on the Liz N book said that it was part of a special deal. The deal turned out to be three paperbacks for the price of two. As they now cost £9.99 each, I pointed out to the assistant that I'd be paying around  £20 for three books, when really I only wanted one. 

'Ah', said the assistant, 'but if you pre-order the new David Walliams book, you'll get money off this one'
'David Walliams? Is that book for children or adults?"
'Adults'
Adults?"
'Oh, sorry, I don't mean David Walliams' (assistant crosses the store to promotional table) 'I mean Richard Osman'
'But I don't want the latest Richard Osman!'
'Oh, that doesn't matter, you just have to pay £3 to pre-order it'
'But what if I don't collect it? will anyone follow it up?'
'No, we don't mind'
'And how much will the Liz Nugent book be if I pre-order the Richard Osman book for £3'
'Wait a minute, it'll be
       ....free!'

Reader, I accepted! Paid the £3 for the pre-order of Richard Osman's  latest murder book, which I will never collect (unless anyone else wants it, and then it'll cost either £8 or £11, I'm not sure which, but definitely not £22) and got a free book by Liz Nugent to take on my holiday!


I came home (got some library books too), write up my patient notes, switched off work laptop was about to switch off work phone when I noticed a WhatsApp from a vulnerable adult. Messaged him back, messaged my colleagues, then switched off! Yahoo! 

S doesn't want to see me tomorrow, either. He's going to Birmingham. Truly it's a weekend off. At last. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.