Day at a Time

By Tweedy

Planting bulbs

About three months ago I found, with my elder son's help, a family grave in the Glasgow Necropolis. The lair pertains to my great, great, great and great, great grandparents so no-one I knew. The headstone is in good condition and the grounds are well tended but I thought it looked a bit forlorn. 

I decided to plant a few spring bulbs by the grave and, with permission from the marvellous Friends of the Necropolis, I went along today. The organisation's chair came with me and was able to suggest why there might be some unrelated names on the stone.  Who were the McBurnies, gunmakers of Berwick upon Tweed,  for example and why is Mary McBurnie buried in this lair? 

Don't ask me why I decided to do this because can't explain it even to myself. But I'm glad I've introduced a bit of spring colour to soften the grave. I'll pop back in spring to see if there are any flowers (or if the squirrels have had the bulbs!) 

I caught the electric bus into Glasgow and my younger son and the nine year old met me for a quick coffee. The nine year old was on the lookout for bubble tea. 

I'm now speeding home along the M80 on the return bus. I have about 1.5 miles to walk at the other end but that's ok. I am so hot though - a muggy day for digging. 

The blip shows the grave with my garden kneeler and various implements in front of it. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.