LA9 to CA95010 and back..

By LA9toCA95010

Memories (confused)

I took this shot because it's my lovely Orla Kiely flask - a present from a lovely friend to go in my lovely vintage tiny caravan back home.

When I looked at it now (much later...am doing a major catch-up for July, as I have been a bad Blipper...), it took me back to Sunday School picnics at the beach. Then there would have been white nylon cardigans, hand-knitted by your grandma for the summer. (It was fawn wool ones for winter. What happened to fawn wool...?).

No idea why that's such an instant memory - I spent my childhood abroad, in a very hot climate, right by a beach, so 99% of my beach time would have been there. And yet that Scottish beach time has stuck in there. Because it was freezing...? Can't be. I don't remember it being cold as a kid (although, for sure, I'd be cold now!).

It's the flask, I think. Although the original flask, of the memory, would have been tartan. That flower pattern was only on very plastic kitchen wallpaper. I'm sure those were the only legal options : tartan flasks, stylised flower plastic kitchen wallpaper...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.