heanku

By heanku

Vesuvius and Pompeii

Then the day had come for a visit to Mount Vesuvius. But oh well, it rained and was too windy so it was closed. Anyway, we went up to the entrance and checked out how it looked there. So now I can at least say that I have been up on Vesuvius.:-)

Extras: We continued to our second goal today: Pompeii. Even there it rained on and off, but not so much that it bothered and we also had rain jackets, so we did not get wet. Everyone knows about Pompeii, so I am not going to tell its story. But only a few personal reflections. I remembered to take photos, lots of photos, but I only choose a few for blip.
Streets; It was very hard to walk on the uneven streets. You can believe that I have a lot of muscle soreness in my legs now.


Mosaic; There are many nice mosaic floors, including this three-dimensional one. Absolutely fantastic in both color and shape. And it is the original floor.

Pillars; There are lots of nice pillars in different shapes. But even here there are people who are more interested in their phone than the surroundings. And I like to watch people too, so for me it was just fun.

Photobombers; There were a lot of people everywhere. If you saw a gap for a photo, you had to throw yourself at the opportunity, because a second later the opportunity was lost.
I took a photo of graffiti that the politicians of the time wrote with red paint on the walls. The politicians wanted to be elected and wrote, for example, that everyone was given free bread to be able to attract votes. I do not know wha is written on this graffiti, but it is fun to take a photo anyway.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.